A Late Hatch

Since shifting my guides in late May, I have made frequent trips back to the scene; a lovely point of land in Bowness Park by the Bow River jutting out into a lake that flanks the river on the south side. A park bench commands the point and a large cottonwood tree grows at the water’s edge near the point. In late June, I walked out to the cottonwood and noticed two ducks jump into the water and swim away. Upon further inspection I discovered a nest behind the cottonwood filled with eight or nine eggs and quickly left the point, retiring to the park bench some thirty feet away to see if the nest would be reoccupied. The female came back within minutes and all was well.
The point is on a small island connected on either end by walkways and bridges with a small marina along the main shoreline for renting canoes and paddleboats to the park visitors and the concession stand not far away. Few people come to the actual point but the boats take that route in and out of the marina so it is a high traffic area.
I began to include a nest inspection on my walks and visited the nest at least a half dozen times over the next two or three weeks. I was a little more circumspect in my visits, walking quietly to the cottonwood and peering behind it to see the sitting mother hunkered down on her nest resolutely incubating her clutch of eggs. On none of these subsequent visits did she leave, either growing more used to my visits or perhaps unaware of my presence. On one occasion I told a friend over breakfast of the situation and she asked to see for herself, so momma duck had two visitors on that occasion.
This is late for a mallard duck to be incubating eggs and many broods have long since hatched and swim in various waterways growing in preparation for the fall migration. What sometimes happens is the first nest meets with some natural disaster and the female duck tries again. The male is present for the early stages and for fertilization and then takes his leave, so the incubation and care for the ducklings is entirely up to the female.
Yesterday’s walk had a different origin as I caught a ride to the distant Brentwood train station and then walked home. I chose the spectacular Bow River route home and detoured to the south side of the river in order to check on the nest turning the two plus hour walk into a walk of four hours or more. It was well worth the extra miles.
I asked my guides to vacate the park bench for my arrival and got there just before a couple who were looking for a park bench and chose one on the mainland part of the lakefront across from the point. After claiming the bench, I went out to the cottonwood and peered between its two thick trunks. The nest was empty. Upon further inspection I discovered several half shells but otherwise no sign of life and retired to my bench asking that I be shown the newly hatched brood. After a few minutes of reflection and enjoying the tranquil beauty, I set off home completing my traverse of the island.
There they were. Proud momma surrounded by nine baby ducklings all what I call teacup size. She was swimming near the marina and they all clustered around her doing their thing foraging as they went but never more than a few feet from the safety of her presence. She was leading the parade and they stayed nearby as though attached by invisible strings. A few passerbies made comment, but ducks are a common sight in the park, so there was no major commotion.
So far, so good. May they continue to mature and join the migration in the fall and may this resolute mother duck have many more successful broods.
Freedom for humanity…

About freedom4humanity

Serving Humanity with information about the Divine process of Ascension.
This entry was posted in Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

