Croquette Weekend

My Mum and Dad have hosted a summer time family get together for many years and twenty three years ago formalized it into a long weekend croquette tournament complete with a trophy and plaques for the winning team. Mum and Dad had seven children and over twenty grandchildren and at least as many great grandchildren and the tournament is open to anyone sixteen years and older. This year, saw at least a dozen children, most of them not yet in school, and thirty one eligible players of which twenty eight chose to compete making fourteen teams. The draw is random except spouses are not allowed to play together. The preliminary round lasts all of Saturday and most of Sunday which is followed by a playoff with the top three teams and often includes a semi-final to break ties. A winning team is always declared and this year’s final was completed in flashlight just ahead of a gathering thunderstorm.
While living in Toronto, I was an irregular attendee and some years ago decided to hang up my croquette mallet as part of my intention to engage in cooperative rather than competitive pursuits. I still spectate and root for my kids and the one grandchild now old enough to compete but my target for the weekend is the social aspects and interacting with various family members from the various branches of the family.
This year’s event included the inurnment ceremony for my Dad’s ashes after he died last December. This was at a small rural graveyard by an unused church where I grew up near Lloydminster on the Saskatchewan/Alberta border. It was well attended with well over fifty people including many people I have not seen in thirty or forty years and some I did not even know. Mum hosted a luncheon after the event that was equally well attended. Several little seen cousins from both sides of the family were there. I rode both ways as Mum’s backseat companion and caught up with her life and times. She turned eighty nine during the tournament and intends to continue living at her lakefront family home for as long as she has her driver’s license. This is being welcomed and encouraged by all of her seven children who value her independence almost as much as she does.
I fell into some of the old habits and drank every day of the tournament. It was different than before since I am now very comfortable in my skin and in my belief systems and shared only with those who expressed an interest. Quite naturally, I am much talked about for my unusual choices and way out there world views and many express interest so my views are often expressed but never apostletized. On one occasion, my viewpoint was overheard by someone who took offense and I simple walked away and joined another group when an argument ensued.
One of my nephews and his wife now own a small farm near Thunder Bay, Ontario, feeding their family from the farm and making a little extra income from work in town. He is well read in ecology and has leading edge technologies at work in terms of both animal and human waste recycling. We found we had much in common and were all naturally following our spiritual path, intuitively being guided along our life’s mission.
I walked down to the river, a seven or eight mile round trip, but generally was on holidays and did not write or post any blogs during the weekend. Back in Calgary now and back to work.
Freedom for humanity…

About freedom4humanity

Serving Humanity with information about the Divine process of Ascension.
This entry was posted in Experiences, Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

